A fascinating itinerary to discover the art and history of Venice, winding from the Napoleonic Wing to the neoclassical halls, with sculptures by Canova, to the Procuratie Nuove, with historical collections describing Venetian Culture and Ancient Art Collection.
On the second floor, a rich collection of Venetian painting from its origin to the 16th century and the Renaissance Museum.
Originally designed as residence for the new sovereign, the Napoleonic Wing would only be finished in the 19th century, with Venice under Austrian rule, serving as the official residence of the Hapsburg Court, and would after become the Venetian residence of the King of Italy.
Established thanks to the collection Teodoro Correr left his city in 1830, the museum offers many itineraries: the first one along the Napoleonic Wing to the neoclassical halls, treasuring a remarkable collection of works by the sculptor Antonio Canova (1757-1822). The second one to the Procuratie Nuove, by the architect Vincenzo Scamozzi (1552-1616), in which the highest offices of Serenissima were housed.
Inside there is also the Museum of Venetian art and history, illustrating the different aspects of Venetian history and culture, like everyday life, institutions, sea feats, city events and festivals.
In four rooms of the first floor, there are the Antique Art Collections, dedicated to the bronzetto, a particular kind of art, with important samples between 15th and 17th century.
Up on the second floor the quadreria (a collection of paintings) with some important masterpieces of Venetian paintings by Lorenzo Veneziano, Bellini, Carpaccio, Cosmè Tura, Antonello da Messina, Lorenzo Lotto, with a set-up by Carlo Scarpa.
On the second floor, there is also the Renaissance Museum, established for educational purpose, it preserves documents, antiques, paintings and printings of this century’s Italian history.
The Library of Venetian Art and History is also annexed to the museum, with a very rich collection of codes and documents, the famous Gabinetto di stampe e disegni, the photographic Archive, the Center for cataloguing and multimedia production.
Address: San Marco 52, 30124 Venezia
Entrance: Piazza San Marco, Ala Napoleonica, Scalone monumentale
Opening hours: from November 1st to March 31st 10 am – 5 pm (ticket office 10 am – 4 pm)
from April 1st to October 31st 10 am – 7 pm (ticket office 10 am – 6 pm)
A single ticket valid for the Doge’s Palace and the combined itinerary of Museo Correr, Museo Archeologico Nazionale and Monumental Rooms of the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana.
Full price Ticket: € 20,00
Reduced Ticket: € 13,00 Children aged from 6 to 14; students aged from 15 to 25; coordinators (max. 2) for groups of children or students (min. 10); citizens over 65; staff of the Ministero per i Beni e le Attività Culturali e per il Turismo (MiBACT); holders of the Rolling Venice Card; FAI members
Free entrance: Venetian citizens and residents; children aged from 0 to 5; disabled people with helper; tourist guides enabled by the Province of Venice and interpreters accompanying groups or individual visitors; for groups of at least 15 people, 1 free entrance (only with prior booking); accompanying teachers of school groups (up to 2 teachers per group); ICOM members; MUVE ordinary partners; Servizio Civile volunteers; MUVE Friend Card holders, holders of “The Cultivist” card (plus three guests).
Family Offer: reduced ticket for all the family members, for families of two adults and at least one child (aged 6 to 14)
How to get there: ferry boat stop "San Marco"